Blogger templates

miércoles, 29 de septiembre de 2010

Mr. Pink

Yes, there is such thing as a gay and lesbian film festival and shit, but the important thing isn’t that the gays have more space to express themselves (because now the weird thing is a movie without a gay character), just that they have good creation team to promote this sort of stuff.

I don't know why, gay movies don't get to me, I find myself watching them and not understanding them, because it’s based on stereotypes, or maybe cultural beliefs that I don’t share nor understand, Maybe because we are far from doing a reality gay movie of a Venezuelan middle class person and there won’t be any movie of this subject coming soon. I guess that the progress have been made looking gay people in movies like another person in the movie, not making the movie gay because (let’s face it) gay movies suck. If you want to make a gay movie it just has to be very gay, SO gay that even gay man finds it gay…So gay that is almost impossible to watch…So gay that takes the regular human interaction and interrupts them with some gay thing that makes it impossible that something that gay can be happening.

Anyway, nobody cares what the gay movie is about, it’s too gay to be taken seriously, and that’s what the creative team of this gay and lesbian movie festival understood and made an excellent advertisement to promote this. Inspired in Reservoir Dogs we have Gangster, a plan, colour code names, blood, and GAYNESS. All this ends in a fantastic gay interaction that maybe doesn’t make us go to the festival, but at least will make us laugh our socks off.

Advertising below.

Enjoy!

jueves, 23 de septiembre de 2010

Trespass: A History Of Uncommissioned Urban Art

Once again TASCHEN made a book that is worth spending money to have. The great thing of these books is that they truly try to speak about our generation with words but also with good designs, marketing and an awesome line of collaborators that give shape to the ideas of what contemporary stuff is about.

They talk architecture, they talk fashion, they talk any type of art and anything dedicated to saying and documenting how the world of today’s aesthetics works.

In this opportunity they bring us a new book that attempts to talk about the urban culture, the streets, and they do it brilliantly acknowledging that what makes urban culture what it is has a little to do with doing it illegal, hidden, in your face, and they take the concept of urban art from the beginning with the name that defines the book: "Trespass".

And the interesting thing about this is that in our civilization and ideal of what society should be we forget the beauty, the element of surprise and the capacity of looking the world differently. For this we have heroes that trespass the roles imposed by the powerful sections of society and without causing a political revolution they communicate the massage of freedom, beauty and the possibility of free thinking even when something bigger than you doesn't let you.

The thing about trespassing is that we know we are little, we know we can do illegal stuff; we know we're not wanted sometimes, but we also have a voice that we rarely use it in a form that affects many people unless you trespass the normal way of doing things. The urge to use that voice in a form of urban art goes beyond the rules imposed by civilization.

In the Declaration of Dependence the Kings of Convenience talk about this sort of things and I quote how brilliantly they communicate the feeling of trespassing and the concept of the new TASCHEN book:

Boys of today write lines on walls
in the streets at night
in suburbs of cities with no name
is this destruction or just quiet protest
against loneliness?

I want this book and I thing everything around this urban heroes is just beautiful and amazing and so right...Check it out:

miércoles, 22 de septiembre de 2010

Generation of Multitaskers

I wonder what the future might be like... In back to the future the pictures on the news paper moved and information changed on the moment, and it seems that with the latest technology books will be a thing of the past. I still think that the best way to read is with a book in your hands. But it's true that I’m just a guy from Venezuela with political control of money change and I can't buy freely books on Amazon or whatever because technology is not at all accessible. The thing is that I really wonder if in the future, taking out the economic issues that don’t allow everyone to have access to technology, people really would stop reading in paper and invest in iPads and Kindels and whatever engineers and creative technological geeks come up to make even wider the experience of reading.

The only thing that really concerns me about reading and the new experience of it is that it will be even harder to make children really learn how to read, and the children that have some sort of learning problem will even have to learn how to multitask in order to read an entire book. We ask ourselves why is it so hard that children’s this days sit down and pay attention, and some go to a pharmacist to prescribe something to make the kid survive a day in school paying attention, sitting down, but the complicated thing is that technology and progress are taking us to a less specific field of knowledge, to a sort of "know a little bit of everything" and learn more about the things you like, and the world is not moving towards children that concentrate on one thing, but on multitaskers that are in contact with everything and are not really paying attention to anything, unless you are really gifted and develop a sort of super learning skill that goes beyond the tool that is given to you.

I see the future in the present and the path that technology is taking and I confess that its really amazing, but also hard to process if you are not in perpetual contact with all this new stuff; the world and technology are becoming a perpetual revolution, nothing stays the same anymore, and our brains are almost forgetting what peace and quiet means. I wonder how education will be in the future, how we will be able to modernize the way we approach reality and the way we learn, how will the children adapt...Isn't that the goal of everyone standing in front of progress? Change and adaptation?

Even so, I'm here, sitting down, writing to the wind, and asking myself how will I have children and raise them to be calmed and multitaskers with a powerful tool like Nelson, Coupland, and Alice, because I want my children to be calmed and fun, and active, and smart, and a little geeks, but I feel that the world is becoming a constant bombarding of stuff very difficult to process...Everything is going fast and I don't want it to slow down...but it also gives me a little angst...

Maybe is right...Angst is the motor of the world, without it we would be dead...but what do I know?

In the mean time you could see what the hell am I talking about here:

The Future of the Book. from IDEO on Vimeo.



Peace!

martes, 21 de septiembre de 2010

Loop a Loop

Its funny how one goes into this sort of music loops, you find yourself listening to the same songs over and over again. Lately I've been remembering a lot of old stuff I used to listen and lately not any more, some 80's and 90's things and stuff, but looking through my music I came across a playlist I did to Fernando. I'm a very musical person, therefore I put moments and pretty much everything I live into the music I listen. But anyway, I came across this playlist and a song called Loop a Loop of the band Crimea, the LP that has this song can be downloaded in their web page for free :-) And because everyone loves free stuff (and I love music) I thought that it was a good idea to share with you and give the opportunity of download new music.

Enjoy!



Download free in
The Crimea's website :-)

sábado, 11 de septiembre de 2010

8 Bit Magic

We all have some fascination for 8bit games, specially everyone that have had some contact with Atari, Nintendo and the first computer games. The coolest thing is that the excitement of 8bit games has never been gone and with tecnology we have demonstrated that 8 bit is not a fashion trend but a thing that was borned to stay.

In music the "nintendo wave" and the 8bit sounds have been very popular lately with mega bands like Crystal Castles sampling this stuff. But are bands like YMCK and Anamanaguchi that have been on the top of the 8bit music. At first listening to this bands was a sort of smiley nostalgia of when we were little and remembered the sountracks of this games, but we don't have to be nostalgic anymore, because with PlayStation 3 and the mega project of the brains involved into making Scott Pilgrim into a Franchise the concept of Game and 8bit music is back!

I'm glad to see a soundtrack of an 8bit game being as famous and happy to see that Scott Pilgrim is doing well (and how not?), the world of grafic comics, 8bit games fans, PlayStation 3 fans, awesome musicians and all is colliding into one mega success that is not only making lot's of money, but making lot's of people freaking happy!

For all of you out there that have no idea of what I'm talking about...and those who do...or just the ones that come into this blog to see the music videos and not read what I have to say :-) I leave the Blogotheque's performance of Anamanaguchi and a sample of the new Scott Pilgrim's PlayStation 3 game sountrack!

FREAKING AWESOME!

Anamanaguchi | A Take Away Show | Airbrushed from La Blogotheque on Vimeo.



Enjoy!

viernes, 10 de septiembre de 2010

The Post For The Suicidal

Not many people reflect about suicide in a funny way (maybe because is a very serious thing to do). The fact is that is never important if you care about the person that will commit it, if this person is decided to do it, they will; and the reason is that most of the time the suicide is very selfish. But the thing about the selfishness in suicide is very important, perhapes the most important aspect about suicide, but though this is important I would like to have a word for al the suicidals everywhere, know that your death will affect someone else, even if nobody loves you, someone will cry and grief for a while, and that's natural because it comes naturally with death.

If you want to die because you want to hurt someone its your problem, just know that if you want to die you can't mess with some other people's life because that's suicidal gone wrong.

This reflection came to me because of the new Philip Selway (Radiohead's drummer) video, it's a very funny take of what can happen when you fuck up your suicide, if you want to take a look here you go...



I also recomend this album...Its Philip Selway "Familial".

Enjoy!

Datos personales

Seguidores

 

Blogger news

Blogroll

About